6302 – 56 Street Taber, Alberta T1G 1Z9

www.horizon.ab.ca

The Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division held its Organizational Meeting of the Board on Thursday, October 28th, 2021 commencing at 12:45 p.m. in the Eric Johnson Room.

TRUSTEES PRESENT: Marie Logan, Bruce Francis, Blair Lowry, Derek Baron, Jennifer Crowson,

Maxwell Holst, Mandy Court

ALSO PRESENT: Dr. Wilco Tymensen, Superintendent of Schools

Phil Johansen, Associate Superintendent of Finance & Operations Robbie Charlebois, Associate Superintendent of Human Services Terri-Lynn Duncan, Associate Superintendent of Learner Services

Sheila Laqua, Recording Secretary

Cole Parkinson, Taber Times

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

Philip Johansen, Associate Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 12:49 p.m.

2. Declaration of Legally Constituted Board

Mr. Johansen stated that, pursuant to the Education Act each Trustee at the Swearing-in ceremony did swear and subscribe to the Oath of Office, and based on the election results as certified by the Returning Officer of the Horizon School Division, the Board is hereby declared legally constituted for the four-year term commencing with this Organizational meeting, and includes the following members:

Ward 1 (Lomond/Enchant) – Marie Logan
Ward 2 (Vauxhall/Hays) – Jennifer Crowson
Ward 3 (Taber/Barnwell) – Bruce Francis
Ward 3 (Taber/Barnwell) – Blair Lowry
Ward 3 (Taber/Barnwell) – Maxwell Holst
Ward 4 (Grassy Lake/Warner) – Derek Baron
Ward 6 (Milk River/Coutts) – Mandy Court

3. Disclosure Statement

Philip Johansen reviewed the Statement of Disclosure with the Trustees. Trustees filled out the Disclosure Statement.

4. Nominations and Election for Chair of the Board

Marie Logan was declared to be the Chair of the Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division until the next Organizational Meeting of the Board.

BOARD CHAIR ELECTED 115/21

5. Nominations and Election for Vice-Chair of the Board

Bruce Francis was declared the Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division until the next Organizational Meeting of the Board.

BOARD VICE-CHAIR ELECTED 116/21

Marie Logan Chair assumed Chair of the Meeting

6. 2021-2022 Trustee Committees

The Board approved the 2021-2022 Trustee Committee representatives as attached to these minutes.

7. 2021-2022 Board Representation

The Board approved the 2021-2022 Administrator's Meeting and COSC Meeting Board representatives as attached to these minutes.

8. 2021-2022 Trustee School Liaison

The Board approved the 2021-2022 Trustee School Liaisons as attached to these minutes.

9. Trustee Remuneration

The Board of Trustees tabled Trustee Remuneration until Associate Superintendent of Finance and Operation could provide additional information.

10. Approved Board Meeting Dates for 2021-2022

The Board approve the Board Meeting Dates for the 2021-2022 term as attached to these minutes.

11. School Visits

The Board will re-visit this item in the Spring.

12. Trustee Contact Information

13. Adjourn Organizational Meeting

Moved by Derek Baron that the Organizational Meeting Adjourn.

ADJOURNMENT 117/21

Carried Unanimously

Chair	_	Secretary	

Horizon School Division Trustee Committees (2021-2022 SCHOOL YEAR)

Board Chair – Marie Logan Board Vice-Chair – Bruce Francis

A.T.A. Negotiating/Liaison	Audit Committee (3)		
Committee (3)	Marie Logan		
Marie Logan - Chair	Bruce Francis		
Derek Baron	Mandy Court		
Maxwell Holst	Ť		
Budget Committee	C.U.P.E./Support Staff		
All members of the Board	Negotiating Liaison Committee (3)		
	Blair Lowry - Chair		
	Bruce Francis		
	Jennifer Crowson		
Facilities Committee (3)	Hutterian Brethren Board		
Bruce Francis - Chair	Representative		
Derek Baron	Mandy Court		
Blair Lowry			
Indigenous (1)	Policy Committee (2)		
Jennifer Crowson	Maxwell Holst		
Mandy Court (alternate)	Mandy Court		
Public Relations Committee	Transportation		
and Friends of Horizon (2)	All members of the Board		
Jennifer Crowson	7 th members of the Board		
Marie Logan			
_	ASBA Zone 6 Director (1)		
Administrative Council Meetings	Marie Logan		
One member of the Board on	Jennifer Crowson (alternate)		
a monthly rotation			
Rural Caucus of Alberta School	TEBA (1)		
Boards	Marie Logan		
Marie Logan	Bruce Francis (alternate)		
Council of Colored Council			
Council of School Councils			
One member of the Board to attend			
meetings on rotation			

Administrator Meeting Board Representation 2021-2022

Tuesday, September 14, 2021	Bruce Francis
Tuesday, October 12, 2021	Blair Lowry
Tuesday, November 9, 2021	Derek Baron
Tuesday, December 14, 2021	Maxwell Holst
Monday, January 10, 2022	Jennifer Crowson
Tuesday, February 8, 2022	Mandy Court
Tuesday, March 8, 2022	Bruce Francis
April - Symposium	NA
Tuesday, May 10, 2022	Blair Lowry
Wednesday, June 15, 2022	Marie Logan/Maxwell Holst

COSC Representation 2021-2022

Wednesday, November 17, 2021	Derek Baron
Tuesday, February 15, 2022	Maxwell Holst
Tuesday, April 26, 2022	Mandy Court

Horizon School Division Board of Trustees School Responsibilities (2021-2022)

Marie Logan (Ward 1 – Lomond/Enchant)

Enchant School – Enchant
Lomond Community School – Lomond
Armada Colony School
Enchant Colony School
Hillridge Colony School
Lomond Colony School

Jennifer Crowson (Ward 2 - Hays/Vauxhall)

Hays School – Hays
Horizon M.A.P. School - Vauxhall
Vauxhall Elementary School – Vauxhall
Vauxhall High School – Vauxhall
Copperfield Colony School

Bruce Francis (Ward 3 – Taber)

Dr. Hamman School - Taber
Midland Colony School
Cameron Farms Colony School
Evergreen Colony School
W.R. Myers High School (includes Sr. High Mennonite Program) - Taber

Blair Lowry (Ward 3 – Taber)

Central School – Taber

D.A. Ferguson Middle School (includes Jr. High Mennonite Program) - Taber

L.T. Westlake School – Taber

Taber Christian Alternative School – Taber

Taber Christian Alternative High School - Taber

Kingsland Colony School

Maxwell Holst (Ward 3 – Taber)

ACE Place Learning Centre - Taber Barnwell School – Barnwell Fairlane Colony School Oaklane Colony School Prairiehome Colony School

Derek Baron (Ward 4 – Warner/Grassy Lake)

Chamberlain School – Grassy Lake
Warner School – Warner
Arden T. Litt Centre for Learning – Grassy Lake
Bluegrass Colony School
Delco Colony School
Sunnysite Colony School

Mandy Court (Ward 5 – Milk River/Coutts)

Erle Rivers High School – Milk River Milk River Elementary School – Milk River River Road Colony School Elmspring Colony School Gold Spring Colony School

HORIZON SCHOOL DIVISION Board of Trustees Board Meeting Dates (2021-2022)

Monday, September 27, 2021
Thursday, October 28, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021 – if needed
Monday, January 24, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Monday, May 30, 2022
Monday, June 27, 2022
Wednesday, August 31, 2022
Monday, September 26, 2022
Monday, October 24, 2022